sa20 league 2022-23 logo

Today Match Live

Pretoria Capitals vs Durban Super Giants Live Score (2)
PR vs DSG Win Prediction

Latest News

SA20 League 2023-24

Cricket South Africa has announced that they will inaugurate the second season of SA20 League in 2023-24. Cricket South Africa named this competition SA20 officially. SA20 League is a franchise-based T20 Cricket League in which all the teams participating in the league are managed and controlled by the franchise owners. All the teams represent different cities in South Africa. Six teams are performing in the second season of SA20. The league is expected to be held in January and February 2023. SA20 is based on an auction model like IPL instead of a draft model.

SA20 is a professional men’s T20 league in which well-known players will be participating worldwide. CSA is the majority stakeholder of SA20, having 50 percent of league shares; broadcaster SuperSport holds a 30 percent share, and former IPL Chief Operating Officer Sundar Raman possesses the remaining 20 percent shares. SA20 League seems to achieve a lot of success in its very first season because it is swiftly gaining the attention of cricket fans. Top-quality players worldwide have shown their interest in the first edition of South Africa League. SA20 Season 1 will start on January 10 with an outstanding opening ceremony.

SA20 2023-24 Information

Host Country South Africa
AdministratorCricket South Africa (CSA)
Cricket FormatTwenty20 (T20)
League FormatDouble Round-Robin
DatesJanuary & February 2024
Number of Teams6


There are a total of six teams participating in SA20 T20 League which are named after the cities of South Africa, which are as follows:

All teams in SA20 consist of at least 19 players, out of which mostly players are from South Africa and rest of the players belong to other countries. The players participating in SA20 Twenty20 League belong to England, Sri Lanka, West Indies, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Ireland, Proteas and Netherlands. All the teams will have a 17 players squad ready to participate in SA20 League.




Top Quality Coaches have been hired by all the teams of SA T20 League. In order to provide a facility of high intensity training sessions and to conduct the competitive cricket matches, coaching staff is participating from different countries. Here is the List of Coaches.

TEAMSHead Coaches
Durban’s Super GiantsLance Klusener (South Africa)
Joburg Super KingsStephen Fleming (New Zealand)
MI Cape TownRobin Peterson
Paarl RoyalsJP Duminy (South Africa)
Pretoria CapitalsGraham Ford (South Africa)
Sunrisers Eastern CapeAdrian Birrell

SA20 Team Captains:

Durban’s Super GiantsKeshav Maharaj
Joburg Super KingsFaf du Plessis (South Africa)
MI Cape TownRashid Khan
Paarl RoyalsDavid Miller (South Africa)
Pretoria CapitalsEthan Bosch
Sunrisers Eastern CapeAidem Markram

Rules and Format of SA20:

All teams play against each other in Double Round-Robin in home and away stadium venues. The winning team will be awarded two points and in case of tie, both teams will be awarded a point. After the Double Round-Robin, the top three teams in the points table will qualify for the next round of the playoffs. If two teams have equal points, then the qualification will be based on run rate (NRR). There are a total of 33 matches in the first edition of SA20 League, out of which 30 are group stage matches, 2 semi finals and 1 grand finale. In the grand finale, the winning team is crowned the champion.


As SuperSport is a shareholder of SA20, they also hold the broadcasting rights of South Africa T20 League. SuperSport will broadcast all the matches live on television. 

SAT20 Stadiums:

SA Twenty20 matches are conducted in different stadiums of South Africa. Every Team has a specific home ground in its respective city. The stadium list for SA20 is as follows:

  • Kingsmead Cricket Ground, Durban
  • Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
  • Newlands Cricket Ground, Cape Town
  • Boland Park, Paarl
  •  Centurion Park, Centurion
  • St George’s Park Cricket Ground

Teams Home Grounds

TeamHome ground
Durban’s Super GiantsKingsmead Cricket Ground, Durban
Joburg Super KingsWanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
MI Cape TownNewlands Cricket Ground, Cape Town
Paarl RoyalsBoland Park, Paarl
Pretoria CapitalsCenturion Park, Centurion
Sunrisers Eastern CapeSt George’s Park Cricket Ground, Gqeberha

Team Owners:

The teams of SA20 League are owned by Indian Stakeholders. The owners of all the teams are the same as in IPL teams. SA20 teams owners details are available as follows:

Durban’s Super Giants

Joburg Super Kings

MI Cape Town

Paarl Royals

Pretoria Capitals

Sunrisers Eastern Cape


As SuperSport is a shareholder of SA20, they also hold the broadcasting rights of South Africa T20 League. SuperSport will broadcast all the matches live on television. 


AB de Villiers, Herschelle Gibbs, Kevin Pietersen, Kass Naidoo, Urooj Mumtaz, Zainab Abbas, Mark Nicholas, Darren Gough, Pommie Mbangwa, Darren Sammy, Shaun Pollock, Vernon Philander, Chris Morris, Ashwell Prince, Mike Haysman and Mark Boucher

SA20 Transmissions:

There are special transmissions regarding SA20 which are live streamed on TV channels which have got the rights to telecast the match

SA20 Pre Match Discussions:

Pre Match Discussions are made in SA20 League to review the pitch behavior, outfield grass, playing 11 lineup of teams, toss effect and weather conditions.

SA20 Fantasy League:

The fans can participate in the SA20 fantasy league and earn points by selecting top performers in the South African League. Share your opinions about your favorite teams and players.