sa20 teams

SA20 Teams Profile 2024 | Six Teams and ONE Trophy

The T20 Global League was launched by Cricket South Africa (CSA) in 2017. Due to a lack of a broadcast agreement and title sponsor, the first season was postponed by a year, and the Mzansi Super League, a league with six CSA-owned teams, took its place in June 2018. Both leagues eventually failed. Due to the COVID 19 pandemic, the MSL was only able to run for two seasons—2020 and 2021.

SA20 Teams Profile 2024:

Six teams will compete in 33 matches in South Africa. due to the city-franchise-based league, the teams are named on the basis of their South Africa cities. Six team’s names are listed below:

TeamCityHome groundOwnerCaptainHead coach
Durban’s Super GiantsDurban, Kwazulu-NatalKingsmead Cricket Ground, DurbanRPSG GroupQuinton De KockLance Klusener
Joburg Super KingsJohannesburg, GautengWanderers Stadium, JohannesburgIndia CementsFaf du PlessisStephen Fleming
MI Cape TownCape Town, Western CapeNewlands Cricket Ground, Cape TownIndiawin SportsRashid KhanRobin Peterson
Paarl RoyalsPaarl, Western CapeBoland Park, PaarlRoyals Sports GroupDavid MillerJP Duminy
Pretoria CapitalsPretoria, GautengCenturion Park, CenturionJSW GroupWayne ParnellGraham Ford
Sunrisers Eastern CapeGqeberha, Eastern CapeSt George’s Park Cricket Ground, GqeberhaSUN GroupAiden MarkramAdrian Birrell

Durban’s Super Giants

Durban’s Super Giants represent Durban, Kwazulu-Natal, and play their home matches at the Kingsmead Cricket Ground in Durban. The team is owned by the RPSG Group and led by Quinton De Kock. The head coach for Durban’s Super Giants is Lance Klusener.

Joburg Super Kings

Joburg Super Kings call Johannesburg, Gauteng, their home city, and the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg is their home ground. The team is owned by India Cements and captained by Faf du Plessis. The head coach guiding Joburg Super Kings is Stephen Fleming.

MI Cape Town

MI Cape Town represents Cape Town, Western Cape, and plays its home games at the Newlands Cricket Ground. The team is owned by Indiawin Sports and led by Rashid Khan. Robin Peterson serves as the head coach for MI Cape Town.

Paarl Royals

Paarl Royals are based in Paarl, Western Cape, and play their home matches at Boland Park in Paarl. The team is owned by Royals Sports Group, with David Miller as the captain. The head coach for Paarl Royals is JP Duminy.

Pretoria Capitals

Pretoria Capitals represent Pretoria, Gauteng, and their home ground is the Centurion Park in Centurion. The team is owned by JSW Group, with Wayne Parnell as the captain. The head coach for Pretoria Capitals is Graham Ford.

Sunrisers Eastern Cape

Sunrisers Eastern Cape is based in Gqeberha, Eastern Cape, and plays home games at St George’s Park Cricket Ground in Gqeberha. The team is owned by the SUN Group, captained by Aiden Markram, and coached by Adrian Birrell.


How SA20 teams names are allotted?

As you know that UAE premier league is a city based franchise league. So the names of the teams are allotted on the basis of famous cities. 

What are names of SA20 teams?

The names of the SA20 teams are as below: 
Durban’s Super Giants, Joburg Super Kings. MI Cape Town, Paarl Royals, Pretoria Capitals, and Sunrisers Eastern Cape.can

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *